All you need to know about Badminton (Part 3)

Competitive badminton is usually organized indoors because even light winds impact the flying pattern of the shuttlecock. (Recreational badminton, on the other hand, is a famous outdoor summer sport.) The rectangular court is approx. 44 feet (13.5 metres) long and 17 feet (5.3 metres) wide for single match, 20 feet (6 metres) wide for double match. A net of 5 feet (1.6 metres) high is hung across the center of the court. A clear space of 4 feet (1.2  metres) around the court is required. Play includes entirely of volleying – passing the shuttlecock back and forth without letting it touch the net or the ground within the boundaries of the court.

In international play, athletes compete to be ranked as the best of three. A game is played to win 21 points, and the winner must have at least a 2-point advantage. If a 2-point advantage is never achieved, the first player or team to reach 30 points wins. Points were only applied to the serving side until 2006, when the BWF applied the “rally scoring” system, in which either side can score at any given time.

The All England ( All England Open Badminton Tournament) is the oldest, most famous and prestigious badminton tournament in the world.

Organized annually, it was hosted after the success of the world’s first open championship organized in Guildford in 1898. The tournament was successfully hosted in April 4, 1899, however only three categories (Men’s Doubles, Women’s Doubles and Mixed Doubles) were originally organized. Both Men’s and Women’s Singles were included the following year.

The first tournament was called “Badminton Association Tournament” and it eventually became the unofficial World Championships until 1977 when the official championships launched. The Championships have only ever been cancelled twice: during World War I from 1915 to 1919 and World War II from 1940 to 1946.

Since 1984 the championship has been exclusively sponsored by Yonex