The World Polo Championship (part 1)

The World Polo Championship (WPC) is a tournament between national team of countries playing polo worldwide which is organised by the Federation of International Polo (FIP). One of the interedting about this championship is that it há no restriction on the gender of the players.
The tournament was held in 1987 by Argentina, and is now held every three or four years. Each participating teams must have a handicap up to 14 goals and for this reason, the best players can’t play the World Polo Championship.
In the 1980s, Marcos Uranga, the President of the Argentine Polo Association, proposed to form an international organization among the polo playing countries to broaden the scope of international polo, and to restore the sport’s Olympic status. By this effort, the Federation of International Polo, quickly known as “FIP,” was created in Buenos Aires on April 1982. At the position of the first president, Mr. Uranga advocated the movement for a World Championship and scheduled the first for April 1987 in Argentina. The competition was limited to teams rated 10 to 14 goals as being aware of the relative difficulty of fielding high-goal teams worldwide. They also split strings of horses and assign matched strings of 28 horses to each team by the luck of the draw to nullify the factor of the horses.

In 1989, the second FIP World Championship was hosted in Berlin, at Maifeld, from which the event underlined the growing influence of FIP in the world polo community with many teams advanced to the playoffs such as Argentina, Australia, Chile, England, France, Germany, Switzerland and the United States.

The third FIP World Championship was organised in Santiago, Chile, in 1992 with Argentina made it “back to back” appearance and knocked off team after team until they entered the finals. There they claimed their winning title by outscoring the host country 12–7.